Skip to content

Peach Crumble Muffins

February 8, 2013

The latest post and recipe over at The Fortunate Life. Peach Crumble Muffins

peach muffins 1peach muffins 4

Harvest has been in full swing this week. We have had mountains of fruit coming of the trees. The most impressive though, has been the incredible Peaches. They are sweet and juicy and luscious.

Usually I get a big box of seconds bought home to turn in to some sort of preserve. This time however, I was treated to a pristine tray of the biggest and most beautiful peaches you have ever seen. I just sat them on my kitchen bench for a few hours to admire and then decided they were grown with the intention to eat…….so…….I decided to bake. I did have some grand plans for the beautiful fruit (and still may with some of the left over pieces) but decided some breakfast or morning/afternoon treats were the way to go for our busy little family at the moment. So, muffins it was. Slightly posh muffins, with a crumble topping.

I did see a recipe a few years ago that I always wanted to try but never got around to. I couldn’t remember where I saw it, so I just ‘winged’ it, as I often do. I am constantly adding and changing ingredients to suit what is in my cupboard or fridge but the below is fairly close to what created the Peach Crumble Muffins, plus or minus a few grams or teaspoons here or there.

(Apologies for the photos, I have lent our good camera to a friend for a short time)

peach muffins 2peach muffins 3

Peach Crumble Muffins

Ingredients (make approx 12 sml-med muffins)

For the muffin base:

1 3/4 cups of self-raising flour (I will next time try wholemeal/buckwheat flour and baking powder)

1/2 cup of castor sugar

3/4 cup of desiccated coconut

500gms fresh peaches, chopped (plus some extra pieces for top of muffin if you wish)

2 teaspoons of vanilla essence

1 egg

1/3 cup of oil (I used olive oil but I think vegetable oil be better)

3/4 cup of butter milk (or ordinary milk)

For the crumble top:

1 cup flour (plain or wholemeal)

100gms butter

1/2 cup rolled oats

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/2-1 teaspoon of cinnamon

Pre heat your oven to 180c and oil and line your muffin tray. I would suggest using paper cases (tall if possible to stabilise the crumble mixture on top) as my mixture was quite moist and even with good butter/oil the mix may still occasionally stick to the tray.

Place all the ingredients for the muffin base in to a bowl and mix well to combine, but do not over mix. I would suggest a wooden spoon, not beaters. Mix in the chopped peaches last and mix softly so not to break up the peaches. I have seen recipes that place the peaches in to the mixture once the mixture has been placed in to the muffin tins. This was done to stop the ripe peaches from breaking up. This stage is up to you!

Meanwhile, make your crumble topping. Sift the flour in to a bowl and rub the butter in with you fingers until you get a crumbled consistency. Stir in the other ingredients until mixed.

I always over fill my muffin tins, not on purpose! I suggest filling each case 3/4 with the muffin mixture. Sprinkle your desired amount of crumble on top, I would suggest approx 2 tablespoons and lightly press in to batter otherwise once cooked the crumble will completely fall off the muffin. Place some cut peaches on top of the muffin if you wish.

Place tray in your preheated oven and cook for approx 10-15min. I would suggest testing your muffins with a skewer after 10min. Remember to be careful with your muffins when taking them out of the muffin trays. The crumble mixture may still be loose. Next time I will be using tall paper cases to ensure the crumble stays in place and the muffin can be more portable.

Enjoy

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Danielle permalink
    February 8, 2013 1:21 pm

    Delicious! Can you save some peaches for Lucas & I pleeease! I reckon coconut oil in place of the olive oil would be delicious as well. This might just be the muffins for the kids school lunch boxes next week 🙂

  2. March 12, 2013 12:07 pm

    These look great – very original. I’d have no luck if i wasn’t following a recipe. Very brave of you!

Leave a Reply

